There is hope

The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Psalm 19:1

I previously mentioned that my lack of control had become abundantly clear, despite my best attempts otherwise. Nothing has really changed regarding the situations, except perhaps that I am even more frustrated, but I am fully resting in the promises of God. He is in control (Isaiah 40) He loves broken people (Hosea, 1 John 4:7-21) . He desires good for his people (Genesis 1, 2)

In addition, I had an awesome conversation with a dear friend of mine who is not a believer. We were able to talk openly about our beliefs on God, his character, sin, the consequences of sin and once again, that God is good, He is in control, his desire is to redeem a broken world (Romans 8:22-25).

This last idea, that God desires to redeem a broken world has struck a particularly poignant nerve in my soul. As i look around at a heinously broken world, I cannot help but marvel at the perfection of God. My soul cries from deep within that this is not right. This is not how we were meant to live. As one who has been redeemed I know that my recognition of the brokenness of the world is evidenced by the perfection of God.

In my conversation last night, my friend remarked “We cannot know good without the bad” and I was able to respond “We know bad because there is a Perfect Good” – Oh what a difference that makes!

Leave a Reply

