To the Cross I Cling

Today, as is customary of every first Sunday of the month, my church celebrated Communion together. It is always a special time to remember Jesus’ sacrifice on the cross for the redemption of our souls and bodies.

Several years ago, I connected the significance and implications of the Passover celebration with the Lord’s Supper (Communion), which forever changed the way I viewed Communion. However, today another shift occurred.

One of my favorite songs is To The Cross I Cling, which we sang this morning. This song echoes my heart’s cry:

All things in me call for my rejection                                                                All things in You plead my acceptance                                                               I am guilty, but pardoned                                                                                By grace I’ve been set free                                                                              I am ransomed through the blood You shed for me                                           I was dead in my transgressions,                                                                 But life You brought to me                                                                               I am reconciled through mercy                                                                         To the cross I cling

This song has always moved me and pierced right through my thoughts, emotions and soul in a way that few other songs can and coupled with the celebration of Communion, it is almost too much to bear. Today, one of our pastors spoke on the solemnity, but also the celebration that exists when we share in Communion. One line that has always bothered me in the song is All things in You plead my acceptance. You see, to me that just doesn’t seem right. I know that I am forgiven, that I have been imputed with Christ’s righteousness, but in the back of my mind and in my heart, I don’t believe that all things in Christ PLEAD for my acceptance. I don’t get it. I imagine reluctance, a moment of hesitation, a fleeting doubt, but not this. Not down on His knees, begging for my acceptance. Not legions of angels celebrating, not rejoicing. No, it is too much for me to handle.

How is it possible that a man so perfect, God, would subject Himself to the frailty of humanity, the shell of a life, to live in anonymity for most of His life only to then suffer in humiliation, a cursed death, all because everything in Him pleads for my acceptance? As I sit here to write, I am uncomfortable, overwhelmed and a little angry because, get this; selfishly, I don’t want to change my life to reflect this reality. If this is true, which I believe it is, then my life must be reordered. My priorities cannot lie in what I want, how I feel or what my culture tells me I need. If this is true, then I have an obligation to worship, serve and glorify this God who ransomed my life through His blood. It is not good enough for me to feel a little “emotional” singing a song, to allow the tiniest portion of my heart to be pricked by shame from my own deliberate sin. No, I am overwhelmed by my sin, but drowning in God’s grace and mercy which are renewed for me everyday, not because of what I have done or who I am, but because of who He is: YHWH.

One thought on “To the Cross I Cling

  1. Pingback: I love old hymns. « justaylored

Leave a Reply

