My Summer(s) as a Kairos Intern

Do you ever have the urge to do something, but you don’t know why? You are compelled to act, but it doesn’t make sense; not necessarily because what you are doing is wrong, but just makes no sense.

Fall 2010 I was studying abroad in Spain and applied for an internship at a local church. *sidenote* I NEVER wanted to work at a church. In fact, I specifically did not want to work at a church. So, why I applied for an internship at a church I attended, but wasn’t too familiar with is beyond me.

To make a long story short, it was one of the best decisions of my life. I met one of my best friends, my mental conception of God was challenged – probably for the first time in my life, and I became part of a community that has been invaluable to me over the past few years.

Why am I reminiscing about this now, you ask? Well, 20+ interns are about to descend on Grace again this summer and it brings me back to my first summer as an awkward intern (see the above video), naively fumbling through life. I am really excited for each of them, but especially the 4 with whom I will be working most closely. I hope they are challenged and find community like I did. I would not trade my summers at Grace (or my job now, for that matter) for any amount of money in the world.

Hey Mom and Dad, aren’t you glad I didn’t listen to you and get a “real job” that first summer? 🙂

Leave a Reply

