Speak the truth, even if your voice shakes

Speak the truth, even if your voice shakes. Isn’t this how we so often feel? I want to speak truth, hard truth, but I’m scared because my voice will shake. How often have I wavered, hesitated or doubted the truth because my voice was shaking inside of me?

The courage to speak our convictions comes from something deeper and stronger than ourselves. If I was strong enough to convince myself, then I would not need God. I would actually know the price of my sin, both in my head and in my heart. I would feel it in my bones; God’s word would penetrate and pierce my joint and marrow, soul and spirit (Hebrews 4:12). Spend about 30 minutes with me and you will know that is not the case. I can’t even convince myself that what I want (ie: following my heart) is not what I want. Does that make sense? I know (head knowledge) that my heart is deceitful above all things (Jeremiah 17:9), but I still “want what I want.” I want to be skinnier, prettier, healthier, smarter, kinder, more athletic, etc. because I ascribe value to those attributes. I trust in them to give me worth, to make me happier. Any one over the age of 17 has at least sensed that these things are not true, if you have not already figured it out completely.

So what’s a girl to do? If I can’t convince myself of something that I know is true, how do I live it? Jeremiah 17:7-8 says:

But blessed are those who trust in the Lord and have made the Lord their hope and confidence.They are like trees planted along a riverbank, with roots that reach deep into the water. Such trees are not bothered by the heat or worried by long months of drought. Their leaves stay green, and they never stop producing fruit.

Confidence. Hope. God is our hope and confidence. period. I don’t have to be bothered by heat or worried by long months of drought. I am free to speak the truth because Truth produces fruit (Galatians 5:22-23). My confidence is not in my looks, abilities, reasoning skills or cunning – my hope is the Lord. He is the one who proclaims truth through me and will not be hindered by my own shortcomings, not the least of which is my shaking voice.

Leave a Reply

