I love old hymns.

Oh the Lord, our strength and song, highest praise to Him belongs (Exodus 20:3, Deuteronomy 5: 7), Christ the Lord, the Conquering King (Hebrews 2, Revelation 19:11-21) – Your Name we raise, Your triumphs sing. “Praise the Lord, our mighty warrior (See all of Old Testament), Praise the Lord, the glorious One, by His hand we stand in victory, by His Name we overcome. All glory and honor and power be unto You”

Though the storms of hell pursue, in darkest night we worship You. You divide the raging sea; from death to life You safely lead.

In Christ alone, who took on flesh (John 1); fullness of God in helpless Babe (Isaiah 9:6-7). This gift of love and righteousness was scorned by the ones He came to save (Matthew 27:15-23, Mark 15:6-15, Luke 23). Until on that cross as Jesus died the wrath of God was satisfied for every sin on Him was laid. (Romans 3:23-26)

He took my sins and my sorrows, He made them his very own; He bore the burden to Calvary, and suffered and died alone. (Isaiah 52:13-15, Romans 3:23-25)

Here in the death of Christ I live, I live (Romans 6:1-14, Colossians 3:3-4). There in the ground His body lay: light of the world by darkness slain. Then bursting forth in glorious day, up from the grave He rose again (Luke 24)! And as He stands in victory, sin’s curse has lost its grip on me (Romans 5). For I am His and He is mine (Matthew 26:26-28, Galatians 2:20), bought with the precious blood of Christ (1 Corinthians 6:19-20). No guilt in life, no fear in death (Philippians 3) – this is the power of Christ in me. From life’s first cry to final breath, Jesus commands my destiny (Ephesians 2:10). No power of hell, no scheme of man could ever pluck me from His hand (Isaiah 49:14-16). Until He returns or calls me home, here in the power of Christ I stand.

In Christ alone my hope is found. He is my light, my strength, my song (John 9:5). This Cornerstone, this solid ground (Psalm 118:22), firm through the fiercest drought and storm.

All the saints and angels bow. Hosts of heaven crying out: “Glory, glory to the King(Luke 2:13-14)

I will not glory in anything not accolade nor might, not stature or a claim on earth but in the cross of Christ. I will not glory in anything that from that from his name would name take; honor that belongs to him whose clothed in infinite praise. I will not glory in anything, not riches power nor fame; for what is there that I possess that did not come through grace?

I will glory in the cross of Christ. I will revel in His sacrifice. I will boast of him who gave me life. I will glory in the cross of Christ

T’was Grace that taught my heart to fear and Grace, my fears relieved. How precious did that Grace appear the hour I first believed?!?! Amazing Grace, how sweet the sound, that saved a wretch like me. I once was lost but now am found, I was blind, but now, I see. All things in me call for my rejection. All things in You plead my acceptance. (I still don’t understand this.) BUT…

The Lord has promised good to me, His word my hope secures (Deuteronomy 6:7-11, all of OT).

I am guilty, but pardoned; by grace I’ve been set free. I am ransomed through the blood You shed for me. I was dead in my transgressions, but life You brought to me. I am reconciled through mercy; to the cross I cling.

When we’ve been here ten thousand years bright shining as the sun, we’ve no less days to sing God’s praise than when we’ve first begun. (2 Peter 3:8)

You reign for all eternity. The Lord, shall reign forever and ever. (Exodus 15:18, Psalm 146:10)

2 thoughts on “I love old hymns.

  1. Pingback: As Common as the Sun Rising in the East « justaylored

Leave a Reply

