The Spirituality of CrossFit

561718_356858954401414_1967272891_n

That’s me in the middle (kicking tail, I might add)

Call me crazy, but I love working out. I love pushing my body beyond its perceived breaking point and conquering another obstacle. Perhaps this is why I love CrossFit, whose slogan is forging elite fitness.

Tonight was my first night returning to CrossFit Redeemed in a month. Part of me dreaded the beating I knew I would take, the feeling of weakness as something that was once easy is now difficult again, but I had to go back. I crave the endorphin rush and the feeling of bending my body to my own will.

It is tempting to dismiss the physical from the spiritual. Ironically, it makes the spiritual seem more spiritual. However, if you listen to any elite athlete you will hear an almost religious tone to their voice. Words like passion, discipline, and journey are commonplace. We cannot separate our bodies from our souls. This is why women will kill themselves to be thin, why men strive to bulk up and “get big,” why my mind is distracted if I feel fat.

Our bodies will exist into eternity with us, scars and all (John 20:19-29). What we do on earth to and with our bodies matters. Perhaps this is why my spiritual health and my physical health are inextricably tied; when I work out physically, I am also working out my soul. As I train my body with rigor, I am preparing my mind, body, and soul for the rigors of my spiritual life.

“…Rather train yourself for godliness; for while bodily training is of some value, godliness is of value in every way, as it holds promise for the present life and also for the life to come” (1 Timothy 4:7-8)

2 thoughts on “The Spirituality of CrossFit

  1. “When I work out physically, I am also working out my soul. As I train my body with rigor, I am preparing my mind, body, and soul for the rigors of my spiritual life.”

    Well said. Heads up… I will be qouting you on this.

Leave a Reply

