Katie Davis is not my Hero.

Katie-Davis-Uganda“Dear friend, be imitators of God alone.” – Katie Davis full article and picture source

I’ve long been inspired by exciting stories of women doing incredible things. Katie Davis, (age 25) is one of those modern-day women. Katie adopted 13 orphans in Uganda and is raising them in their village. She’s pretty much living the life I wanted to live when I was 18 and the life I thought I would live out of college. I’ve followed her journey since shortly after she started blogging. I’ve read her book and I’ve dreamed about what it would look like to move to insert-African-nation-here and adopt orphans and teach them to love God. I see what Katie is doing and I think, I could do that! If I’m not careful, I allow bitterness and jealousy creep in and before long, I feel inferior, angry, and resentful that this is not my life right now.

I’m tempted to view her life as holier than mine, her journey as more glamorous and more spiritual. I think, why didn’t God plan that for me right now? In my mind, this is a holy, good thought, but really it is just another version of coveting what my neighbor has – be it a larger house, nicer car, or better looks. Instead of longing for the material, I long to live a life of glamorous spirituality that is oh so much more glamorous than a life in the suburbs. Neither is right. Neither is holy.

“Dear friend, be imitators of God alone.” I am not called to imitate Katie Davis. Katie Davis is not my hero, but she is a great example of what is means to live sold-out, all-in for the true Hero. I am called to follow my Hero, Jesus Christ, and daily die to myself – save-the-world dreams included. My life is refined in the long, slow walk of obedience to holiness. I hope one-day that walk will lead to missions for the nations, but until that day I must follow in obedience feasting on my daily bread – the Bread of Life.

Thank you, Katie, for the reminder.

Be imitators of God, therefore, as dearly loved children and live a life of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God. Ephesians 5:1
9 thoughts on “Katie Davis is not my Hero.

  1. I love this post! I have definitely felt this way many times in my life, especially after reading Katie’s book. Thank you for this simply but humbling reminder. Praying for you and your beautiful heart for missions!

    Blessings,
    Shelby

  2. From one Taylor to another–

    You are such an encouragement. Thank you so much for sharing this & the wisdom God has given you, & for allowing the Lord to use you! I have also read Katie’s book & fell in love with her story. & I too experience the same struggle you do. Sometimes I wish so desperately to have her life! But all that does is undermine what God is doing in mine. I share your struggle, sister. Thank you for being real & being vulnerable in sharing your heart.

    Much love & God bless!

  3. From one Taylor to another–

    You are such an encouragement. Thank you so much for sharing this & the wisdom God has given you, & for allowing the Lord to use you! I have also read Katie’s book & fell in love with her story. & I too experience the same struggle you do. Sometimes I wish so desperately to have her life! But all that does is undermine what God is doing in mine. I share your struggle, sister. Thank you for being real & being vulnerable in sharing your heart.

    Much love & God bless!

  4. So true. I’ve also been so inspired by Katie Davis for the past couple of years, and have had to remind myself over and over that, though she is a great example and role model, I should not be aspiring to live the life she is living; I should be aspiring to live like Jesus. Whether that means adopting 13 young girls and improving entire communities like Katie Davis is, or something completely different. He has a plan for each of us.

Leave a Reply

