Hey Friends, It’s been a while…

This photo has nothing to do with the post, but who can resist a sunset photo???

This photo has nothing to do with the post, but who can resist a sunset photo???

Hey friends, It’s been a while. I hope you’ll forgive my absence. I’ve been writing elsewhere and my motivation to write on this blog has waned. Still, for the past several weeks I’ve almost started many a blog so I think the blogging bug is back. I suppose if I was going for hits, shares, likes, and internet approval I would forge on through my virtual writers block, but I am not and I did not.

I have struggled with the purpose of this blog – why am I writing? who am I writing for? what should I write about? When I started this blog it was a place for me to put my thoughts and I like that. One thought on my mind a lot recently has been adoption and foster care. Yes, this is part of my job, but more than that I find myself reading blogs of people who’ve adopted and learning about their experiences. I love hearing the stories of families who have adopted or fostered. I have friends who are adopting and it is easy for me to pray for them and look for ways to help them prepare to meet their little girl. I dream about adopting my own kids one day.

So what’s a single girl with a heart for adoption to do? Though I probably could adopt, I don’t think it is the wise decision for me right now. Instead, I will content myself with supporting families who are adopting or fostering – like this family with whom I’ve had the pleasure to walk alongside. The joy of seeing their daughter’s room ready and waiting was overwhelming – especially knowing I got to have a small part of helping her come home!

In the midst of all of this, Christianity Today posted an article on ways Single Christians can be involved in orphan care. It both inspired and challenged me to think critically about my involvement in orphan care. There are, in fact, many ways to be involved with out adopting – single or not. Mentoring, becoming a Guardian ad Litem, making meals, or offering other skills or talents are just a few ways to be involved. I would encourage you to read the full article.

One theme echoing in my life the past year is the overwhelming faithfulness of God and his ability to take seemingly small and insignificant choices and use them further his purpose. God’s heart for the orphan is much greater than my own. His plan and timing are perfect. Whatever part I get to play in that plan is amazing.

Oh the love that drew salvation’s plan! Oh the love that brought it down to man… There my burdened soul found liberty at Calvary.

3 thoughts on “Hey Friends, It’s been a while…

  1. Please Keep Writing Posts. I was so happy when I checked your blog and you had posted something after falling off the planet for six-seven months.

  2. Pingback: Meet Astor and Why I’m Running a Marathon | justaylored

Leave a Reply

