2014 Goals: A Review

Doesn't this just make you want to travel?!?! I'll definitely have some travel goals in 2015.

Doesn’t this just make you want to travel?!?! I’ll definitely have some travel goals in 2015.

2014 was an ambitious year. I decided to set yearly and monthly goals, personal and professional goals, and reading and fitness goals – you can read the full list here. As an achiever, it is deeply satisfying for me to cross off a list. In fact, several times throughout the year I wanted to create sub-lists for my yearly goals just to cross them off!

Like most people, my resolve for some goals dwindled throughout the year and others I completely forgot about. Still, I was able to finish several of my big goals – like running a marathon and completing a monthly solitude each month. Both of these were long term goals requiring commitment and resolve and both required giving up many Saturdays to make time – sometimes both happened on the same Saturday. I finished my marathon in October and I’m already planning to run another one. One of the most surprising realizations how quickly I began to crave my solitude time. If too many weeks went by without me having a solitude time then I would feel agitated and restless until I made time to get away. This is definitely a habit I plan to continue – who knows maybe I’ll go for a whole week sometime. Maybe.

My biggest regrets of the year were not putting any effort into learning a new language and not memorizing 3 sequential chapters of Scripture. Those may go on my 2015 list. I still have to finish 1,000 pushups in December – right now I’m at 450 and I’m pretty confident I can make it to 1,000 by the end of the year.

Overall, I enjoyed the process. I found the most stressful part was not being able to cross off year long lists sooner! The acts of setting and then making time to complete goals was most valuable and I learned I have a lot more time than I thought I did. I liked having different categories of goals to accomplish – reading, writing, fitness, spiritual, etc, but I’m also toying with the idea of creating a theme of goals for 2015. I just don’t know what it would be!

One thought on “2014 Goals: A Review

Leave a Reply

